Add to Cart:

Wish List

The Modern Sound Quintet was formed by Rudy Smith, a Trinidadian master of the "pans" and a genuine jazz bebopper, in late 1960s Sweden. This international group of musicians features John Rochford (piano) from Barbados, Sigfried McIntosh (bass) from Surinam, George Allyn (drums) from Trinidad and Kofi Ayivor (congas) from Ghana. Lars Samuelson, a jazz trumpet player and producer in Sweden who heard this quite unique quintet, was captivated by their concept and sound, and asked them to record an album. Otinku, the resulting album, was recorded in Stockholm in 1971, produced by Samuelson, and originally released on the Odeon label, a subsidiary of EMI Finland. With an Afro-jazz/Caribbean orientation, the selections are a rich mixture of jazz standards and original compositions, including recently re-discovered killer funk tunes "Otinku" and "Sugar Daddy,"and a fine steel jazz version of "Bags Groove." The album was their only release and is now a sought-after item for steel pan/Caribbean music fans and vinyl diggers.

This product was added to our catalog on Friday 08 January, 2010.

Copyright © 2003-2019 Meditations All rights reserved