Triptychs: Variations On A Melody


Sold Out
Ask a question
Wish List

Aidan Baker's (Nadja) Triptychs takes inspiration from Erik Satie's compositions Gymnopédies and his notion of 'furniture music,' which many consider a precursor to contemporary ambient music. Each 'triptych' is based around a simple, slow moving melodic line, which repeats three times with the addition of an harmonic line upon each repetition, culminating in a three part harmony. Various musicians from different ensembles and musical backgrounds -- Peter Broderick, Julia Kent, Leah Buckareff (of Nadja), Aki Yakamoto (of Vampillia), and Baker himself -- were invited to record their interpretations of these compositions.

This product was added to our catalog on Monday 20 October, 2014.

Copyright © 2003-2020 Meditations All rights reserved